The New NHS Structure

How is the NHS Changing?

The NHS has undergone major changes to its structure set out in the Government’s Health and Social Care Act. From 1st April 2013, most but not all of these changes will be in place. During this transition period all vital NHS services will continue as usual.

The changes are about who makes decisions about NHS services, how these services are commissioned (bought) and the way money is spent.

Some organisations such as primary care trusts (PCTs) and strategic health authorities (SHAs) will be replaced by new organisations such as clinical commissioning groups (CCGs).

Local authorities will also take on a bigger role and be responsible for budgets for public health. Health and wellbeing boards will have a duty to encourage commissioners of services across health, social care, public health and children’s services to work together. Local authorities are expected to work more closely with other health and care providers, community groups and agencies, using their knowledge of local communities to tackle challenges such as smoking, alcohol and drug misuse and obesity.

More information on the changes to the NHS can be found on the NHS Choices website –

What is happening in York?

As part of this restructure in York the NHS Vale of York Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) took charge of the local NHS, from the former Primary Care Trust, NHS North Yorkshire and York.

NHS Vale of York CCG is the statutory body responsible for commissioning (buying) healthcare services for patients across the Vale of York.

Led by a number of local GPs and other health professionals from 1st April 2013, NHS Vale of York CCG will be responsible for the planning and buying of the vast majority of health services across the area. This includes hospital care, mental health and community services.

For more information on NHS Vale of York CCG’s values and mission or to get involved in shaping local NHS services visit their website

You can also contact them on:

Telephone: 01904 555870 or